BUCKINGHAMSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

MINUTES

Minutes of the meeting of the Buckinghamshire County Council convened and held on Thursday 26 May 2016 in The Oculus, AVDC Offices, Gatehouse Way, Aylesbury, commencing at 9.30 am and concluding at 10.05 am.

PRESENT

Mrs V Letheren in the Chair;

Mr B Adams, Mr C Adams, Mr M Appleyard, Mrs M Aston, Mr W Bendyshe-Brown, Mr N Brown, Mr A Busby, Mr T Butcher, Mr W Chapple OBE, Mr J Chilver, Mrs L Clarke OBE, Mrs A Davies, Mr D Dhillon, Mr C Ditta, Ms N Glover, Mr P Gomm, Lin Hazell, Mr P Irwin, Mr R Khan, Ms A Macpherson, Mrs W Mallen, Mr D Martin, Mr Z Mohammed, Mr R Reed, Mr B Roberts, Mr D Shakespeare OBE, Mr M Shaw, Mr A Stevens, Mr R Stuchbury, Mr M Tett, Julia Wassell, Mr D Watson, Mr W Whyte and Ms K Wood

DIGNITARIES AND OTHERS PRESENT

Mrs M Soames DL, Sir H Aubrey-Fletcher, Mrs M Clayton, Mr M Colston, Mrs G Miscampbell OBE DL and Mr R Pushman

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Mrs P Birchley, Ms J Blake, Mr D Carroll, Mr T Egleton, Mr C Etholen, Mr P Hardy, Mr D Hayday, Mr A Huxley, Mr S Lambert, Mr M Phillips, Mr D Schofield, Mr R Scott, Mrs J Teesdale and Ms R Vigor-Hedderly

1 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

Mr B Chapple welcomed Mrs M Soames as the new High Sheriff of Buckinghamshire. Mr Chapple provided Members with a brief biography, particularly mentioning Mrs Soames' intention to use the year to highlight the plight of loneliness and promote the work of organisations dealing with related issues.

Mr Chapple thanked Council for the support received during his year as Chairman and asked for nominations for Chairman.

Mrs V Letheren was nominated by Mrs W Mallen and seconded by Mr D Dhillon.

RESOLVED

That Mrs V Letheren be elected as Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

Mrs Letheren read and signed the Declaration and Acceptance of Office, and presented Mr Chapple with a commemorative photo book of his year in office together with a past Chairman's badge.

Mrs Letheren thanked Council for her appointment. Mrs Letheren reflected on her political career in local government and pledged her commitment to representing Buckinghamshire over the year ahead.

MRS LETHEREN IN THE CHAIR

2 APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

The Chairman invited nominations for the position of Vice Chairman.

Mrs P Birchley was nominated by Ms L Hazell and seconded by Mrs N Glover.

RESOLVED

That Mrs P Birchley be elected Vice Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

3 MINUTES

The Minutes of the meeting held on 28 April 2016 were agreed as a correct record.

4 PETITIONS

There were no petitions presented.

5 COMMUNICATIONS

Apologies were received from Mrs Birchley, Mrs Blake, Mr Carroll, Mr Egleton, Mr Etholen, Mr Hardy, Mr Hayday, Mr Huxley, Mr Lambert, Mr Phillips, Mr Schofield, Mr Scott, Mrs Teesdale, Mrs Vigor-Hedderly, Mr Allen, Mr Lawrence, Mr Polhill and Mr Ross.

A minute's silence was held for the recent death aged 90 of Mr John Page, who had been a County Councillor representing the Burnham and Old Beaconsfield from 1989 to 2001.

The Chairman welcomed Mrs Rachael Shimmin, Chief Executive Designate, who would be joining the Council in September.

In recognition of 45 years' service to the County Council, the Chairman presented Mrs Helen Bennion with a bouquet of flowers.

6 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no Declarations of Interest.

7 ANNUAL APPOINTMENTS OF LEADER TO CABINET

Mr M Tett announced the reappointment of his Cabinet as follows:

Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Health & Wellbeing	Mr Mike Appleyard
Cabinet Member for Children's Services	Ms Lin Hazell
Cabinet Member for Community Engagement & Public Health	Mr Martin Phillips
Cabinet Member for Planning & Environment	Mr Warren Whyte
Cabinet Member for Education & Skills	Mr Zahir Mohammed
Cabinet Member for Resources	Mr John Chilver
Cabinet Member for Transportation	Mr Mark Shaw

The Leader also reconfirmed appointments to Deputy Cabinet Member positions:

Health & Wellbeing	Mrs Wendy Mallen
Children's Services	Mrs Jean Teesdale
Community Engagement & Public Health	Mrs Margaret Aston
Planning & Environment	Mrs Netta Glover
Education & Skills	Mr Noel Brown
Resources	Mr David Watson
Transportation	Mr Paul Irwin

RESOLVED

Council NOTED the report of the Leader.

8 ANNUAL REPORT ON COMMITTEE PROPORTIONALITY AND APPOINTMENTS

Council considered the report and recommendations.

RESOLVED

- 1. Council CONFIRMED the political balance in the distribution of seats across Committees as set out in Tables 1 and 2, to accord with the rules on proportionality.
- 2. Council AGREED the appointments to Council Committees in accordance with the rules on political proportionality, in line with the proposals put forward by each of the political group leaders for the municipal year 2016/17.
- 3. Council AGREED to delegate to the Monitoring Officer powers to vary the membership of a Committee at any point on a permanent of casual basis upon the written nomination of a Group Leader.

9 SELECT COMMITTEE STRUCTURE

Council considered the report of the Interim Chief Executive on the Select Committee Structure.

RESOLVED

Council AGREED the proposed structure & remit for Select Committees for the municipal year 2016/17 in order to discharge the Council's statutory overview and scrutiny functions.

10 TREASURY MANAGEMENT ANNUAL REPORT 2015/16

Mr D Watson presented the report confirming that all Treasury Management activity complied with the Council's Treasury Management Strategy agreed in February 2015. Mr Watson highlighted that over the past year the average value of investments varied between £160m and £220m with interest on income of £1.8m over budget; borrowing at the end of the year stood at £164m, with interest payments on the debt of £10m; that premiums to pay off high interest borrowings were considered prohibitive; and that there had been one short-term loan of £15m required during the year.

Mr Watson informed Council that payment for the Energy from Waste plant of £180m would take place during the week of 6 June, subject to satisfactory signification.

In relation to the prudential indicators in Appendix 2, Mr Watson highlighted the recommendation to increase the operational boundary by £20m to permit investment of new assets to provide new income streams; and the recommendation to increase the upper limit of variable rate borrowing to £140m.

Mr R Stuchbury raised concerns about the balance of funding used in dealing with waste and that used to deal with social care issues. In response, Mr Watson and Mr Tett reminded Members that the investment decision had been taken to enable the Council to minimise landfill tax and maximise funding for use on other services.

RESOLVED

Council AGREED:

- 1. The Treasury Management Annual Report and the actual Prudential Indicators for 2015/16.
- 2. A change to the operational boundary for external debt within Prudential Indicator 3.3 from £230m to £250m in 2016/17.
- 3. A change to the Upper Limit of Variable Fixed Rate Borrowing within Prudential Indicator 4.4 from £100m to £140m in 2016/17.

11 NOTICES OF MOTION

There were no Notices of Motion.

12 CABINET MEMBER DECISIONS TAKEN - INFORMATION ONLY

The report was noted.

13 INFORMATION FOR MEMBERS ON EVENTS AND MEMBER SERVICES - INFORMATION ONLY

The information was noted.

CHAIRMAN